2010 – Broken Paddle

Broken Paddle 2010

The Braintree Canoeing clubs annual friendly canoe polo tournament, so named because one of our goal keepers in the dim and distant past was in the habit of breaking a paddle every time he played, mostly due to over enthusiasm and the wooden paddles once used. The broken paddle is open to all club members regardless of ability with the emphasis on friendly rather than serious competition. That’s not to say that the tournament isn’t fought for vigorously, but everybody is made very welcome whether they are novice or experienced.


The team that won this year 2010 was Terry Archer, Rob Wilson, Dave Puttick, Mike Whitehead.